View Single Post
  #17 (permalink)  
Old 24-06-2008, 03:33 PM
Soop's Avatar
Soop Soop is offline
Super Moderator
Membership Number: 49907
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: cheshire
Posts: 778
Thanks: 226
Thanked 224 Times in 145 Posts
Soop is on a distinguished road
Send a message via MSN to Soop Send a message via Skype™ to Soop
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andy View Post
...probably the best thing to do would be to contact the person who made the site before accusing them of robbing you..

the site was working fine for all members last week until VWD decided to stop the gag pop up page from working (without notification), I only found out about the change late last week so I changed the code to use the new squeeze page so it would show up for whatever member number was provided in the url, it worked after I changed the code and so I left it alone.

..until I got a (polite) message from MikeC about this thread, 3 minutes later I was able to see that vwd had done something else to their squeeze page that prevented it from showing for the correct member number and so I fixed it.

myfreego is one of hundreds of pages and sites that I have made, I don't check them every single day so I can't know if one of the ones I made for everyone to use stops working unless someone sends me a message about it.

to prevent this kind of thing from happening again?
the best thing to do is to make your own page, if you can't or don't want to do that and have to use someone elses work then please show a little respect and maturity by contacting them first if there's a problem before you call them a thief in a public forum.

Andy
Andy has done many things for the forum members and has frequently shared web sites and lead capture ideas, that where primarily made for his own team.

It shows huge generosity to then share these resources with the folk on the forum that are not within his own group. This sort of accusation is not only uncalled for but an insult.
As Andy rightly says, if you discover a problem, common courtesy would be to contact whoever has shared a web page ( with hosting! ) with you and not make public derogatory remarks.

The buck lies with anybody who uses this sort of unofficial free member offer though... If you have a link that you have not created yourself you should TEST it frequently. It is not up to the creator (Andy in this particular case) to do the tests for you.

We as a forum used to get many member offers of this type, It is hardly surprising after this if after this no more offers are made!
__________________
Opportunity is missed by most people because it’s dressed in overalls and looks like work. Opportunities are seldom labeled ……..

http://www.TheAtlasGroup.co.uk
http://www.GrabYourGrand.com
http://www.EuromillionResults.com


Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Soop For This Useful Post:
Gary (27-06-2008)